Wednesday, May 09, 2012


Six-time Grammy Award winner and founding member of The Eagles, Glenn Frey has released After Hours, a collection of classic love songs from the 40's to the present. The 11-track collection finds the Eagles singer/guitarist offering his take on a variety of classic love songs written between the 1940s and today.

Among the tunes Frey recorded for the album are Randy Newman's "Same Girl," Burt Bacharach and Hal David‘s “The Look of Love,” The Beach Boys' "Caroline, No," and a jazzy rendition of Bobby Troup‘s R&B standard “Route 66.” 

Frey collaborated with co-producers Richard F.W. Davis and Michael Thompson, both members of The Eagles touring band, to make the 14-track record possible.

After Hours, his sixth solo album and first since 1995 is a total departure taking him in a whole new direction. The two-and-a half year project was developed out of Frey's passion for the songs. “I wanted to make this album for my parents, who are still alive and kicking,” the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer explained. “I wanted to share [my version of] their music with them. It was great making the record.” He added that making After Hours was a “real challenge,” but one he enjoyed so much that he’d like to record another album along the same lines.

Frey kicks off a brief tour in support of the new record on Wednesday at New York City’s Town Hall. The six-show trek runs through a May 26 concert at the Wiltern theater in Los Angeles.

After Hours Tracklisting:
1. For Sentimental Reasons
2. My Buddy
3. The Good Life
4. Route 66
5. The Shadow of Your Smile
6. Here’s To Life
7. It’s Too Soon To Know
8. Caroline, No
9. The Look Of Love
10. I’m Getting Old Before My Time
11. Worried Mind
12. I Wanna Be Around
13. Same Girl
14. After Hours

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...