Monday, February 27, 2012


Joyce’s seventh original recording for Far Out – Rio – combines Joyce’s Brazilian rhythms (partido alto to samba), jazz and bossa harmonies and intelligent lyrics through her beautifully expressive voice on special original compositions and unique versions of classic Brazilian songs.

“In the summer of 2010, I was invited by the city of Rio to present a solo show on Ipanema beach. It was intended as a sort of luau for people leaving the beach, with just voice and guitar. I threw a sundress over my swimsuit, flip-flops on my feet, coconut water within easy reach, and there I was.

The sea of people, both locals and tourists, on the sand; the presence of friends who, like me, grew up on that stretch of beach; giving joy to so many made the show one of the happiest I’d ever given. Seeing all those people singing with me the city’s anthem, “Cidade Maravilhosa,” was priceless. This CD was born when the sun sank behind the Dois Irmãos hill, and the crowd applauded as we had done so many years ago. A crowd that applauds a simple sunset must be very good folk. Rio—the mountain, the sun and the sea—where I make my samba simply.”

Joyce - Rio Tracklist:
1. Adeus America
2. O Mar
3. Manha No Posto Seis
4. Vela No Breu
5. Puro Ouro
6. Desde Que O Samba E Samba
7. Valsa De Uma Cidade
8. As Mariposas/Com Que Roupa
9. Fitio de Oracao
10. Rio Meu
11. Viva Meu Samba
12. Mascarada
13. Samba Do Carioca
14. Cidade Maravilhosa
15. Tardes Cariocas / See You In Rio

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...