Tuesday, February 21, 2012


Deep Jazz is the brainchild of acoustic bass player Jerker Kluge, and The Meeting is the amazing second album from Deep Jazz – and every bit as spiritual and soulful as the first. The arrangements, production, and execution here are wonderful – with no modern tricks or gimmicks to get in the way at all – and in addition to great warm acoustic bass from group leader Jerker Kluge, the set also features alto, tenor, flute, bass clarinet, and piano – plus some great Alice Coltrane-like harp, sweet percussion, and even female vocals on a few cuts.

The Meeting follows on from ther first effort, Heaven And Earth, and kicks off with Freddie Hubbard’s "Little Sunflower" – a song that needs little introduction and is given a sublime take. The Meeting has a  strong spiritual groove throughout, and Julia Fehenberger’s vocals are a featured and are are especially effective on the swinging "Don’t Get Drowned." You'll enjoy the peaceful "East And West" track as well. The Meeting flows, grooves and is essential for lovers of contemporary Jazz that owes a nod or two or three to the sixties. Other titles include the great originals "No Doubt", "The Meeting", "Movement", "Mystic Sky", "Invisible", and "East & West" – plus great versions of "Little Sunflower" and "Spirits Up Above".

Deep Jazz – The Meeting Tracklist:
1. Little Ssunflower
2. No Doubt
3. Movement
4. Mystic Sky
5. Don’t Get Drowned
6. Invisible
7. Coincidence Of Circumstance
8. East And West
9. Sprits Up Above
10.Autumn Sun

Deep Jazz line-up: Julia Fehenberger (Vocals), Andrea Hermenau (Piano, Vocals), Florian Riedl (Flöte, Alt-Saxophon), Till Martin (Tenor-Saxophon), Ulrich Wangenheim (Bassklarinette), Kathrin Pechlof (Harfe), Jerker Kluge (Kontrabass), Diony Varias (Percussion), Matthias Gmelin (Drums)

1 comment:

Deep Jazz said...

Thank you for the review!
You can get more information and a FREE track to download here:

Jerker Kluge


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...