Monday, April 20, 2015

Soulful Bluesy & Roots Singer ETHAN TUCKER To Release New Album MISUNDERSTOOD

Washington-born singer songwriter Ethan Tucker continues to establish himself in prestigious music circles with his soulful bluesy voice and roots music. With self-released albums, Take Me to the Mountains (2007) and Lost Between (2010) molding the young musician, and a live touring regimen that has taken him around the country on several national tours, the stage is now set for the first professional studio LP Misunderstood, available May 5 on Stoopid Records

Fresh off the road from an impressive list of tours that include legends Jimmy Cliff, Buddy Guy, and The Wailers, as well as national support slots with musical peers Slightly Stoopid, G-Love, and Michael Franti, Tucker's new release exemplifies his enthusiasm for collaboration at its best.

After impressing Michael Franti with an impromptu backstage jam in Spearhead's dressing room before ever playing a show together, Ethan was immediately summoned by Franti himself to come to Michael's studio in San Francisco, California to record. From there, a bond between the two artists was solidified.  The infectious first single "Crazy Tonight" was arranged, recorded, produced at Franti's studio, also featuring him on guest vocals. This track, coupled with the reggae-pop hybrid "Cool Kids" (also produced by Franti) opens a new album that is a cohesive coming of age for the artist.

The first single "Crazy Tonight" has begun to create a significant buzz around the release, garnering early attention at AAA radio across the US. A forthcoming music video for the song (directed by Franti) was filmed late last year.

The rest of the compositions that make up Misunderstood were masterfully produced by Mario Caldato Jr., known for his work with the Beastie Boys, Jack Johnson and G Love. With the master near completion, a "surprise" session evolved while Ethan visited downtown Los Angeles, and connected with the rhythm section of Norwood Fisher of Fishbone on bass, and Thomas Pridgeon of Mars Volta on skins. The power trio provides a surprisingly unique reggae dub rendition of Jimi Hendrix "Little Wing" recorded by Jimmy Sloan at Seahorse Studios in Downtown LA.

The results of all these sessions produced a diverse array of styles from blues and folk to pop and reggae, yielding 11 tracks in three weeks, and cementing the album's core.

The Easy Star dub remix of "Little Wing," plus "Josephine" and "Dance The Night Away" from the Mario C sessions are available as exclusive bonus tracks when pre-ordering Misunderstood on iTunes or Ethan's website:

Set to hit the road in the next few weeks in support of the album, Ethan makes his first two appearances at California festivals. "Summer Meltdown" on April 25 in Santa Clarita and on the hugely popular Cali Roots Music Festival in Monterey, May 23. Ethan will hit the road with Hirie, and perform at the acoustic venue Hotel Cafe in Hollywood on April 27.

Misunderstood Track List:

1.  Cool Kids
2.  Crazy Tonight (feat Michael Franti)
3.  Crazy
4.  High Time
5.  Coming Home
6.  Never Be
7.  Tease Me
8.  All I Need
9.  Misunderstood
10. This Has All Been A Dream
11. Little Wing

Bonus Tracks (available through only)

12. Josephine
13. Dance the Night Away
14. Little Wing (Dub)

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...