Wednesday, April 15, 2015

HU VIBRATIONAL'S The Epic Botanical Beat Suite is a mix of deep African rhyths and Afro-jazz elements

Hu Vibrational's new album mixes deep percussive African rhythms and Afro-jazz with elements of hip-hop and electronica. Recorded and mixed at Bill Laswell's state of the art studio, this is the fourth album by Hu Vibrational and for those who bought the previous 3 releases this will not disappoint! 

Produced and mixed by Adam Rudolph together with longtime Laswell engineer James Dellatacoma, the album features 7 world music percussionists along several special guests including Bill Laswell hitting the deep pockets on bass plus Norwegian guitar whiz Eivind Aarset creating ethereal electronic palettes. Joining Rudolph in the groove department are the percussionists from his Go: Organic Orchestra project, Brahim Fribgane, James Hurt, Matt Kilmer, Tim Kieper, Keita Ogawa and Tripp Dudley. Each of these great drummers has performed extensively worldwide; here they perform Rudolph's rhythm compositions on a wide variety of world percussion. 

Adam Rudolph is known for his work with Don Cherry, Pharoah Sanders and other great jazz artists, as well as his 25-year partnership with the legendary Yusef Lateef. He currently leads his Moving Pictures Octet and the 36-piece Go: Organic Orchestra. Almost 10 years after the last Hu Vibrational release, Boonghee Music, Rudolph turns his creative energies back to HU by creating a deep groove masterpiece - indeed; a vision of future dance music.  As Tommy Chong so aptly puts it,  "When you hit a groove, it's not you; it's the spirit world."

The tracks were electronically processed and transformed in the mixes into a true ancient to future expression; a dance music style Hu calls "Boonghee Music." With 2 acclaimed releases on Soul Jazz Records (Beautiful and Universal Mother) and Scott Heren's (Prefuse 73), Eastern developments label, Hu Vibrational's deep spiritual music draws on the links between Africa, jazz music and avant-garde hip-hop. 

1. Akete 6:08
2. Charas 4:14
3. Soma 5:21
4. Hikuli 4:36
5. Kwa-Shi 5:00
6. Agobi 5:08
7. Ya-Jey 4:38
8. Akete (Remix) 9:22

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...