Wednesday, March 12, 2014


Iconic is a perfect word to describe this legendary jazz label, which is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year. Blue Note has been home to many of the greatest jazz players over the years, including John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Bud Powell, Clifford Brown, Sonny Rollins, Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers, Herbie Hancock, Cannonball Adderley, Wayne Shorter, and Donald Byrd. Some of the label’s latter-day stars, including Cassandra Wilson, Norah Jones, and Robert Glasper are also featured, illustrating how this historic label, now under the leadership of producer/bassist Don Was, continues to stake new ground. This 22-track, 2-CD ICON collection features Blue Note classics like Monk’s “’Round About Midnight,” ‘Trane’s “Blue Train,” and Hammond B3 organist Jimmy Smith’s “Back at the Chicken Shack,” as well as more recent hits including US3’s “Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia),” Glasper’s “Afro Blue” with Erykah Badu, and Jones’ “Cold Cold Heart.”

Disc 1
1. Summertime – Sidney Bechet Quintet
2. ’Round About Midnight – Thelonious Monk
3. A Night In Tunisia – Bud Powell
4. Brownie Eyes – Clifford Brown
5. Blue Train – John Coltrane
6. Tune Up – Sonny Rollins
7. Moanin’ – Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers
8. Cool Struttin’ – Sonny Clark
9. Blues Walk – Lou Donaldson
10. Somethin’ Else – Cannonball Adderley (feat. Miles Davis)
11. Back at the Chicken Shack – Jimmy Smith

Disc 2
1. Chitlins Con Carne – Kenny Burrell
2. The Sidewinder – Lee Morgan
3. Speak No Evil – Wayne Shorter
4. Maiden Voyage – Herbie Hancock
5. Song For My Father – Horace Silver
6. Black Byrd – Donald Byrd
7. Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia) – US3 feat. Rahsaan and Gerard Presencer
8. Come On In My Kitchen – Cassandra Wilson
9. Cold Cold Heart – Norah Jones
10. Afro Blue – Robert Glasper feat. Erykah Badu
11. Liquid Spirit – Gregory Porter 

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...