Friday, August 09, 2019

New Music Releases: Motion – Toby Marks (aka Banco De Gaia); Resavoir; Bill Bruford

Motion – Toby Marks (aka Banco De Gaia)

Motion is an innovative new album by sound artists Toby Marks (aka Banco De Gaia) and Andrew Heath. Although the pair have collaborated on individual tracks and shows before, this is the first album they have worked on together. Toby and Andrew started making extensive field recordings on trips to the four corners of Britain during 2018. They went deep into Llechwedd Slate Cavernsin Wales, explored Suttle Stone Quarries in Bournemouth, hopped on the Swanage Ferry to Poole Harbour, took to the air with the Yorkshire Gliding Club, floated down the Leeds & Liverpool Canal and rode the Bure Valley Railway in Norfolk. By the end they had a staggering hundred hours of audio in total, which they processed and transformed, blending piano, guitars and electronics, to produce a deeply meditative, endlessly unfolding collection.

Resavoir – International Anthem

Resavoir is a collective of instrumentalists, all of whom represent exciting new directions in Chicago’s fertile contemporary jazz and creative music scenes. All highly active players, the band’s compiled resume includes collaborations with Noname, Chance the Rapper, Makaya McCraven, Jeff Parker, Saba, Nick Mazzarella, Mavis Staples and many more. The self-titled album presents a juicy suite of elegantly-orchestrated lo-fi jazz instrumentals germinated from home recording experiments by the group’s producer and arranger Will Miller. Resavoir's debut is already making waves, gaining support from the like of Bradley Zero (NTS), Gilles Peterson (BBC 6 Music), Matt Wilkinson (Beats 1) , Stereogum, Supreme Standards, and Twisted Soul to name a few.

Bill Bruford - Earthworks Complete

A Summerfold Records reissue, Bill Bruford’s ‘Earthworks Complete’ is a spectacular 20CD/4DVD box set of the entire back catalogue across Earthworks' 20-year career. Includes previously unreleased and little known material. What's in the box? 15 titles on 20 CDs and 4 DVDs document the 20 year history from 1987 to 2006 of one of the UK's brightest, most travelled and best loved young jazz ensembles. Featuring Bill Bruford with Iain Ballamy, Django Bates, Patrick Clahar, Laurence Cottle, Tim Garland, Steve Hamilton, Tim Harries, Mark Hodgson, Mick Hutton, Gwilym Simcock. All audio, visual and print materials compiled and curated by Bill Bruford. Additional original artwork by award-winning illustrator, photographer and filmmaker Dave McKean.


No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...