Saturday, August 10, 2019

New Music Releases: Chrissie Hynde With The Valve Bone Woe Ensemble; John Depalma; Sunny Side Up

Chrissie Hynde With The Valve Bone Woe Ensemble - Valve Bone Woe

The amazing Chrissie Hynde displays yet another volte face in her incredible career with the release of her new album ‘Valve Bone Woe’ on September 6. The album features 14 tracks written by a stunning array of classic songwriters and innovators, including Brian Wilson, Frank Sinatra, Hoagy Carmichael, Charlie Mingus, John Coltrane, Nick Drake, Ray Davies and Rodgers and Hammerstein. ‘Valve Bone Woe’ was produced by Marius De Vries and Eldad Guetta and recorded with the Valve Bone Woe Ensemble at Air Studios in London.

John Depalma – Something Shiny

17 years after his first CD, the live recording ''The Song Is Mine'' on the LML label, NYC singer/songwriter, John DePalma presents ''Something Shiny''; a 50 minute studio collection of gorgeous, adult-contemporary pop originals, and covers. A little bit cabaret, a little bit Broadway and a little bit easy listening. Utilizing the talents of NYC based singer songwriter Tim DiPasqua, and Sound Engineer Kevin Jasper, DePalma gives heart and voice to music of his own (with co-writer James Followell), as well as inspired covers of songs by Michael Holland, Dar Williams, Randy Newman, Elton John, Joni Mitchell,Tom Waits and others.

Sunny Side Up (Various Artists)

A wonderful overview of the creative scene in Melbourne – a collection that's almost the down-under equivalent of We Out Here – a previous Brownswood sampler of contemporary genius on the London scene! As with that collection, this one brings together the best up-and-coming artists who are really helping to move the scene forward – working in styles that are rooted in jazz, but quickly explode into a whole range of cosmic, soulful styles – music that's very much in keeping with the 21st Century mission that first got Brownswood going over a decade back, and which still makes the label one of our most-trusted sources for turning on to new music from the global underground! Much of this work is instrumental, in modes that effortlessly mix soul, fusion, funk, and spiritual roots – but create something very new and revolutionary in the process. Titles include "Pick Up/Galaxy" by Dufresne, "There Is No Time" by Kuzich, "Powers 2 The People" by Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange, "Nice To See You" by Laneous, "Orbit" by Allysha Joy, "The Wake Up" by Horatio Luna, "Eternal/Internal Peace" by Silent Jay, and "Bleeding Hearts" by Audrey Powne. ~ Dusty Groove

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...