Friday, January 25, 2019

New Music Releases: Eric Dolphy - Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions; Addi McDaniel – After The News; Lance Ferguson - Rare Groove Spectrum

Eric Dolphy - Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions 

Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions is the first official release of previously-unissued Eric Dolphy studio recordings in over 30 years, including nearly 85 minutes never-before-released. Containing the masterpiece albums Conversations and Iron Man recorded in New York City in July of 1963 and produced by Alan Douglas, the 3CD set features jazz greats such as saxophonist Sonny Simmons, trumpeter Woody Shaw, bassist Richard Davis and NEA Jazz Master vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson and includes a 100-page booklet with rare photos, essays and interviews with jazz greats such as Sonny Rollins, Henry Threadgill, David Murray, Nicole Mitchell and many others.

Addi McDaniel – After The News

On her captivating solo debut, After The News, Addi McDaniel searches inwards, channeling the pain of loss and regret into a transformative work of beauty and strength. Hailed as “a dynamo with a brass-plated voice” by the LA Times, McDaniel is both an extraordinary singer and a gifted interpreter of song, and she breathes vivid life into a raft of original songs and covers by Andrew Bird and Bruce Cockburn. Backed by an all-star cast of musicians including drummer/producer Marco Giovino (Robert Plant, Norah Jones), McDaniel blurs the lines between roots, blues, soul, and jazz.

Lance Ferguson - Rare Groove Spectrum

Lance Ferguson has given us plenty of great work over the years – from his work in The Bamboos, to all his many other projects – yet as much as we've liked all of those, this one might actually be one of his best – a fantastic reworking of rare groove tracks from the 70s, all with a nicely changed-up sense of instrumentation! The set's mostly instrumental, and Lance takes on tracks originally recorded by James Mason, Pleasure, Funk Inc, and other names who are big heavyweights 'round these parts – served up with very strong instrumentation by a combo that includes members of The Bamboos, Hiatus Kaiyote, and The Putbacks. Titles include "Sweet Power Your Embrace", "Goodbye So Long", "Joyous", "Egg Roll", "Brazilian Rhyme", "Am I Wrong", "A Love I Believe In", "Noches De Viaje", "The Panther", and "Smokey Joe's La La". ~ Dusty Groove

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...