Friday, October 21, 2011


Now that Etta James has officially retired from the music industry, you can bet that we’ll be seeing more reissues highlighting her incredible career. This one is the most comprehensive and most broadly-representative single collection of the Heart & Soul of Etta James to date – a 4-CD set from Hip-O/Verve Select that draws from her entire career. It starts off with her earliest charting hits and includes the iconic original versions of many her most classic numbers, incredible stuff from the 60s & 70s with best remembered treasures and overlooked gems alike, and closes with strong material from the later years. All in all you get 84 tracks on 4-CDs – in a beautiful, hardbound package. This collection not only does a wonderful job of hitting on the diverse styles of R&B, jazz, blues, pop and soul that Etta did so well over the years, it also covers the each era and includes material from a number of different labels – Modern, Argo, Chess, Warner Brothers, Fantasy, Island, RCA and more. Also includes lengthy notes by Bill Dahl and notes for each individual track. Includes "The Wallflower (aka Roll With Me Henry)", "Good Rockin' Daddy", "Crazy Feeling", "Strange Things Happening Every Day", "Stop The Wedding", "These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)", "Do I Make Myself Clear?" with Sugar Pie DeSanto, "The Same Rope", "The Soul Of A Man", "Miss Pitiful", "I Found A Love", "Down So Low", "Damn Your Eyes", "Higher Ground" (previously unreleased), "What's Wrong" (previously unreleased), "The Sky Is Crying", "I Believe I Can Fly", "Ashes By Now" (previously unreleased) and many more. (Limited edition.)

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...