Monday, August 06, 2018

Nw Music From: Joyce Moreno, Barbara Ingram, Nathan Haines

Joyce Moreno - 50 

A beautiful little record – one that celebrates the 50th anniversary of the first album from Joyce – one of our favorite Brazilian singers of all time! Joyce revisits all the songs from that record – including a few written by Caetano Veloso, Toninho Horta, and Marcos Valle – and the change in sound is amazing – given all the maturity and sophistication the singer has brought to her sound over the decades! Make no mistake, Joyce was tremendous right from the start – but the change here from the first album is amazing – music that's full of subtle brilliance, jazzy inflections, and this way of completely inhabiting the lyrics, but without ever overdoing things – all qualities that were not in place on Joyce's debut. The set features work from Toninho Horta, Marcos Valle, Roberto Menescal, Zelia Duncan, Danilo Caymmi, and others – and titles include "Improvisado", "Anisedade", "Superego", "Litoral", "Choro Chorado", "Me Disseram", and "Bloco Do Eu Sozinho". Also includes two new tracks – "A Velha Maluca" and "Com O Tempo".  ~ Dusty Groove

Barbara Ingram – Philadelphia Sweetheart

One of the few albums we've ever seen to foreground the talents of the great Barbara Ingram as a lead act – even though her vocals had been a huge part of the Philly scene from the 60s onward – in a legacy that includes work with Ray Charles as a Raelette, lead vocals with her brothers in Ingram Family, and countless studio work as a member of The Sweeties backup trio! Barbara's got this mature, sophisticated style that recalls the shifts that other Philly females were taking in the 80s as they were growing up – and the set features some production work from brother Butch Ingram, and other help from LB Young. Titles include "What Else Can I Say", "Let The Love Begin", "Spirit Of Love", "Someone's On My Side", "She's All Alone", "Tried It & Liked It", and "Music Is The Message".  ~ Dusty Groove

Nathan Haines – Zoot Allure

Nathan Haines returns to Papa Records with the aurally astounding long player, Zoot Allure. Originally released back in 2014 only in New Zealand, Zoot Allure has been replayed, re-mastered and remixed for a special new version for 2018. Nathan Haines again teams up with long time collaborators, Mike Patto, Vanessa Freeman and Marc Mac, plus he welcomes some masterful vocal contributions from Marlena Shaw, Kevin Mark Trail and fellow Kiwi Tama Waipara. To round off this outstanding album are two fresh remixes of the single Got Me Thinking from Opolopo and Bugz In The Attic to bring the extra dance-floor funk and groove.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...