Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Melissa Manchester: Through the Eyes of Love-The Complete Arista 7" Singles (2CD-Set)

“Please, don’t let this feeling end…” The sentiment of that famous lyric is one shared by listeners every time Melissa Manchester begins to sing. From her earliest pop hits through her recent triumphs on the jazz charts, Manchester’s voice has always resonated with warmth and power. In 1975, she was one of a handful of select talents chosen by Clive Davis to inaugurate his Arista Records label, and during her near-decade on the label, the fiercely independent artist established herself as both a singer and songwriter. 

Inspired by the trailblazing Laura Nyro, the onetime student of Paul Simon scored a crossover smash with the beautifully intimate “Midnight Blue,” established such songs as “Don’t Cry Out Loud” and the Oscar-nominated “Theme from Ice Castles (Through the Eyes of Love)” as standards, and reinvented herself as a contemporary dance diva with the Grammy-winning “You Should Hear How She Talks About You.” All of those songs and many more—including over fifteen chart hits—can be heard on Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records’ Through the Eyes of Love—The Complete Arista 7” Singles Collection. 

This landmark release brings together every one of Manchester’s Arista 45 RPM releases, all in their original single versions featuring 23 unique single mixes/edits, for a total of 43 tracks on two discs. These timeless recordings fusing pop, rock, soul, R&B, new wave, dance, jazz, and plenty of heart have been newly remastered from the original tapes by Mike Piacentini at Sony’s Battery Studios, and present Melissa’s hits on CD as they were first heard on the radio between 1975 and 1984. Through the Eyes of Love boasts several worldwide CD premieres such as the single version of “My Boyfriend’s Back” (heard as part of a medley in its album version), and as a special bonus, the extended 12-inch mix of “You Should Hear How She Talks About You;” Joe Marchese of The Second Disc provides new liner notes based on an exclusive interview with Melissa herself. Clocking in at 157 minutes, Through the Eyes of Love: The Complete Arista 7” Singles is the most comprehensive Melissa Manchester anthology ever, and reveals just why she became the cherished voice of a generation.

Disc : 1
1. Midnight Blue
2. I Got Eyes
3. Just Too Many People
4. This Lady's Not Home
5. Just You and I
6. My Sweet Thing
7. Better Days
8. Sing, Sing, Sing
9. Rescue Me
10. Happy Endings
11. Monkey See, Monkey Do
12. So's My Old Man
13. Be Somebody
14. Dirty Work
15. I Wanna Be Where You Are
16. No One's Ever Seen This Side of Me
17. Don't Cry Out Loud (Single Version)
18. We Had This Time
19. Theme from Ice Castles (Through the Eyes of Love)
20. Such a Morning
21. Pretty Girls
22. Fire in the Morning

Disc : 2
1. It's All in the Sky Above
2. Lights of Dawn
3. If This Is Love
4. Talk
5. Without You
6. Boys in the Backroom
7. Lovers After All
8. Happier Than I've Ever Been
9. Race to the End (Theme from "Chariots of Fire")
10. Long Goodbyes
11. You Should Hear How She Talks About You
12. Hey Ricky (You're a Low-Down Heel)
13. Come In from the Rain
14. Nice Girls
15. My Boyfriend's Back
16. Looking for the Perfect Aah
17. No One Can Love You More Than Me
18. White Rose
19. I Don't Care What the People Say
20. Emergency
21. You Should Hear How She Talks About You

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...