Friday, July 11, 2014


Shanachie Entertainment is proud to announce the signing of classic R & B/funk band ConFunkShun and will release the band’s first new studio album since their initial break up in 1986. Con Funk Shun was formed by high-school classmates Michael Cooper and Louis "Tony" McCall, along with Karl Fuller, Paul "Maceo" Harrell, Dennis Johnson, Cedric Martin, and Danny "Sweet Man" Thomas. All of them had been playing together since their high-school days in Vallejo, CA. Felton Pilate, also from Vallejo, joined the group after his band, a local rival, disbanded. ConFunkShun initially broke through in the "golden age" of self-contained R & B bands in the 1970's, joining such ground-breaking ensembles as Earth, Wind & Fire, War, The Meters, Kool & The Gang and many others as innovative hit-makers.  They are, unquestionably, among the heroes of Funk with romantic ballads and dance-party hits galore. Memorable melodies, inventive horn arrangements and clav-guitar woven grooves, make the group absolutely essential to the evolution of funk. They charted four consecutive Gold's and one Platinum album. ConFunkShun had 25 chart singles from 1977 – 1986, including 5 Top Ten hits and sold millions of albums. The band broke up when Michael Cooper went  solo in 1986; he enjoyed a successful solo career in the ensuing decade. After playing some successful performances in the new Millennium the band reunited with key members, including lead vocalists Michael Cooper and Felton Pilate.  The new album will be released in the Fall of 2014 following a heavy touring schedule this Summer. This signals the true re-emergence of one of R & B's greatest bands!

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...