Monday, November 28, 2016

The Three Sounds featuring Gene Harris Groovin' Hard: Live at The Penthouse 1964-1968

Groovin Hard is a collection of previously unreleased live recordings of the legendary jazz trio, The Three Sounds , led by groove-master Gene Harris . Captured live at Seattle's Penthouse Jazz Club from 1964-1968, featuring bassist Andrew Simpkins and drummers Bill Dowdy, Kalil Madi and Carl Burnett, this set contains soulful originals like Blue Genes and standards like "The Shadow Of Your Smile," which was never released on any other Three Sounds' albums. The group's song "Put On Train" was prominently sampled in the Beastie Boys song "What Comes Around" on the album Paul's Boutique. Deluxe package features rare photos and memorabilia including the classic image on the cover of the trio performing at the club taken by photographer Egill Gustafson plus essays by journalist Ted Panken, producer Zev Feldman, Seattle Jazz DJ Jim Wilke and others. The Three Sounds were one of the most popular artists on the iconic Blue Note label during the late 50s and early 60s, and you can hear why on these infectiously swinging recordings from The Penthouse.

Track Listing:
Side A:
1. Girl Talk (6:23)
2. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes (5:49)
3. Blue Genes (3:10)
4. The Shadow Of Your Smile (6:55)
5. Rat Down Front (2:25)

Side B:
1. Yours Is My Heart Alone (7:50)
2. A.M. Blues (4:09)
3. Bluesette (6:48)
4. Caesar and Cleopatra (film theme) (4:57)
5. The Boogaloo (2:44)

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...