Thursday, February 28, 2013



Los Angeles-based singer and songwriter Laura Jane ( has turned quite a few heads with her eclectic, powerful brand of soul music. She certainly won us over when we first heard her album Everything Changes and SoulTrackers agreed. So we're very proud to be presenting Laura's pulsating, soul driven track, "My Confession," as this month's Choice Track FREE DOWNLOAD. It's a great demonstration of the power brought by this new artist who is making waves in the soul music world. ~ Originally posted at


DoctorfunK was established in 1995 and has set the standard for new soul music in the Pacific Northwest. Echoing the legendary passion of famed horn band Tower of Power and that "Bay Area Sound," this 10-piece ensemble has maintained the tradition and more. With their first national release, "Prescription for Soul" on the Oakland-based label, Strokeland Records, DoctorfunK joins other standouts such as Glenn Waters and Fred Ross, as well as Doc Kupka's own Strokeland Superband. The follow-up release, "Second Opinion" introduces fresh new original material in a modern presentation that is rooted in the classic soul sound. Tower of Power alumni Jeff Tamelier produced and collaborated on the material, along with Roger Smith and Prarie Prince who makes a guest appearances. DoctorfunK is poised for a place in all of our music collections of the finest in soul and funk music. Listen for them on your local radio stations and watch for upcoming performances in your area as well. Old School in the New Millennium is here to stay. So if music is your medicine, make an appointment with DoctorfunK for your "Second Opinion" ~ CD Universe


2013 5-CD box set containing a quintet of albums packaged in cardboard mini LP sleeves and housed in a slipcase. Tower of Power has remained a significant Californian funk/soul/R&B horn band since its formation in 1968. As well as performing as a band in their own right, Tower of Power have worked with an impressive selection of other acts as a horn section including major acts such Carlos Santana, The Grateful Dead and John Lee Hooker. Included in this collection is the 1973 hit 'So Very Hard to Go', from the band's most successful album to date: Tower Of Power, which reached #15 in the Billboard 200, and was later certified Gold. Included in this 5-CD collection are the hit songs 'You're Still A Young Man,' on the debut album Bump City, and 'Don't Change Horses (In The Middle Of A Stream),' on the 1974 album Back To Oakland. ~ CD Universe

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...