Tuesday, July 12, 2011


As a founding member of the one and only Allman Brothers Band, and in his own storied solo career, Gregg Allman has long been a gifted natural interpreter of the blues, his soulful and distinctive voice one of the defining sounds in the history of American music. Low Country Blues is the legendary Rock & Roll Hall of Famer’s seventh solo recording and his first in 14 years. Produced by T Bone Burnett, the album finds Allman putting his own stamp on songs by some of the blues giants whose work has long informed his own, from Muddy Waters and B.B. King to Bobby Bland and Magic Sam, plus one original, the soulful “Just Another Rider.” Named for the coastal Georgia region Allman calls home, Low Country Blues stands as a high water mark in an already remarkable body of work, rich with passion, verve, and the unerring confidence of a true survivor. Low Country Blues spotlights new and unique arrangements of classic blues songs that showcase the talents of an iconic artist who himself has generated a catalog of his own “classic” songs. From early 20th century progenitors like Sleepy John Estes (“Floating Bridge”) and Skip James (“Devil Got My Woman”) to 1950’s big band R&B by Bobby Bland (“Blind Man”) and Amos Milburn (“Tears, Tears, Tears”), from Muddy Waters’ 1948 Delta-infused Chicago blues classic single “I Cant’ Be Satisfied” to West Side soulman Magic Sam’s signature song “My Love Is Your Love,” from the almost chain-gang clang of the traditional “Rolling Stone” to the one original on the album, “Just Another Rider,” Gregg Allman stakes his claim to more than seventy-five years of American roots music history.

Low Country Blues Track Listing:
1. Floating Bridge 4:46
2. Little By Little 2:46
3. Devil Got My Woman 4:53
4. I Can't Be Satisfied 3:34
5. Blind Man 3:46
6. Just Another Rider 5:40
7. Please Accept My Love 3:07
8. I Believe I'll Go Back Home 3:50
9. Tears, Tears, Tears 4:55
10. My Love Is Your Love 4:14
11. Checking On My Baby 4:07
12. Rolling Stone 7:04

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...