Wednesday, September 26, 2007


Jazz legend Herbie Hancock is featured in 30- and 60-second television and radio public service announcements (PSAs) to promote Daniel Pearl World Music Days - an international network of concerts scheduled from October 1-15, 2007. Since World Music Days' inception in 2002, over 1500 concerts in more than 67 countries have been dedicated to its theme of "Harmony for Humanity.” The PSA messages invite professional and amateur musicians around the world to "use the universal language of music to diminish hatred, respect differences, and reach out in friendship by dedicating performances for Harmony for Humanity." Herbie Hancock will be dedicating live performances in Japan. The television PSAs will be included on the National Association of Broadcasters' (NAB) monthly satellite feed on September 21 at 11:30 AM Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). Satellite coordinates are: C-Band, Galaxy 26 (also known as Intelsat A6), Transponder C09, 93 degrees West, Downlink Frequency 3880 - Vertical, Audio: 6.2/6.8. Stations can contact the NAB to order a copy of the PSAs. In addition, both 30- and 60-second Radio PSAs are available for download at any time at the Daniel Pearl World Music Days

"This is an awareness raiser, not a fundraiser. There are no financial obligations to participate," said Ruth Pearl, Daniel's mother and co-founder of the Daniel Pearl Foundation. "All musicians – professional and amateur - are invited to dedicate performances held from October 1st through 15th in honor of Danny's October 10th birthday. All they need to do is register their performance at the World Music Days website and then simply say a few words from the stage or in the program in affirmation of Danny's belief that music is the universal language that unite people of different cultures, faiths and talents."

Nowhere is the World Music Days message better exemplified than in the commitment of its Honorary Committee; spanning the spectrum of music genres from classical to hip hop. In addition to Herbie Hancock, the Committee for 2007 includes Sir Elton Jhn, Ida Haendel, Salman Ahmad, Theodore Bikel, Yefim Bronfman, Tania Libertad, Yo-Yo Ma, Zubin Mehta, Mark O'Connor, George Pehlivanian, Itzhak Perlman, R.E.M., A.J. Racy, Steve Reich, Mohammad Reza Shajarian, Ravi Shankar, Russell Simmons, Barbra Streisand, and John Williams.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...