Tuesday, December 13, 2016

LESLEY GORE LOVE ME BY NAME (EXPANDED EDITION): Album Sessions Reunited Lesley with Producer Quincy Jones

Having filled a major gap in the late, great Lesley Gore’s discography with its release of her Motown album Someplace Else Now, Real Gone Music now turns its attention to the other major missing piece of her catalog, the 1976 album she recorded for A&M Records. Love Me by Name not only reunited Lesley with producer Quincy Jones from her hit-making ‘60s days, but brought her into together with a truly staggering array of talent, including Herbie Hancock, Toots Thielemans, Harvey Mason, Jim Keltner, Dave Grusin and just about every other studio superstar you could name, even the Partridge Family! Love Me by Name features compositions written by Gore and her songwriting partner Ellen Weston, most notably the title track, which was later covered by Dusty Springfield, Patti Austin, and Jennifer Holiday among others. The album also gave a nod to the disco and funk trends that were so prominent in pop music at the time, particularly on the lead-off track, “Sometimes,” which paired her unmistakable pipes with the Brothers Johnson. Our Real Gone reissue marks the worldwide debut of this album on CD, and adds two rare single versions as well as liner notes by Joe Marchese that explore the life and times of this remarkable lady. Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision and featuring rare photos, this Expanded Edition of Love Me by Name is the one release that Lesley Gore fans worldwide have been waiting for. 

1. Sometimes
2. Paranoia
3. Love Me by Name
4. Immortality
5. Can't Seem to Live Our Good Times Down
6. Don't Stop Me
7. Other Lady
8. Along the Way
9. Give It to Me Sweet Thing
10. Reprise: Love Me by Name
11. Immortality
12. Give It to Me Sweet Thing

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...