Thursday, October 22, 2015


ADELE – 25

Adele is set to release "25," her highly anticipated new album, which will be available globally on Friday, November 20th and is the first new music from her since her Oscar winning single 'Skyfall' in 2012.  "My last record was a break up record and if I had to label this one I would call it a make up record. I'm making up with myself. making up for lost time. making up for everything I ever did and never did." "Hello," the debut single from "25," will be available to buy and stream on Friday, October 23rd. The cinematic video for "Hello" will also be revealed on Friday, October 23rd. It was shot in the countryside surrounding Montreal and is directed by the celebrated young Canadian director Xavier Dolan (Mommy, Tom at the Farm). Tracklist: Hello; Send My Love (To Your New Lover); I Miss You; When We Were Young; Remedy; Water Under The Bridge; River Lea; Love In The Dark; Million Years Ago; All I Ask; and Sweetest Devotion.

A really compelling album from reedman Lew Tabackin – a set that has Lew working in a very open trio setting – which is quite a change from his best-known performances in his big band with Toshiko Akioshi! Of courses, Lew has recorded in smaller groups before – but this one's got an especially loose, open feel – as there's no piano at all – just Tabackin on tenor and flute, plus bass from Boris Kozlov, and drums from Mark Taylor! Lew really stretches out on both his instruments – with these long solos that have lots of nice edges, especially on the tenor – in a style that's especially nice on the original tunes for the set, which include "Minoru", "Bb Where It's At", and "Garden Of Life Time". The whole album's got a nicely soulful vibe – maybe more than usual for Lew – and other titles include "Afternoon In Paris", "Day Dream", and "Sunset & The Mockingbird". ~ Dusty Groove.


Sparkling work from trumpeter Marcus Printup – a player who can blow with great power when needed, but also hit these slinky, soulful moments too – a balance that only seems to get better and better with each new record! There's a bit of Freddie Hubbard in that approach, but Printup's definitely his own man too – and can step easily into bolder, more spiritual passages – especially when working with a group this great – as the lineup includes Patrick Bartley on alto, Coleman Hughes on trombone, Allyn Johnson on piano, Dezron Douglas on bass, and Ulysses Owens on drums! Owens and Douglas really hold things together wonderfully – with a style that's sophisticated, yet always swinging – especially on some of the album's boldest tracks. Titles include the great originals "En Route", "The Bishop", "Greasy", and "Young Bloods" – plus a wonderful take on "In Your Own Sweet Way", done at a level that really opens the tune up with the horns!  ~ Dusty Groove

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...