Monday, May 05, 2014



A decade into the formation of Dumpstaphunk, the New Orleans all-star collective Ivan Neville (vocals, B3 and Clav), the double bass attack and soulful voices of Tony Hall and Nick Daniels III, Ian Neville on guitar, and the monster addition of Nikki Glaspie (formerly with Beyonce s all-female band) on drums and vocals releases their third studio album, Dirty Word. Initially started as an impromptu line-up of some of New Orleans tightest players, hand-picked by Ivan Neville to accompany his 2003 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival performance, Dumpstaphunk has become a stalwart touring act, richly deserving the title 'Heavyweight Champions of Funk.' Press accolades for the band have ranged from the New York Times hailing, in 2007, 'Dumpstaphunk is the best funk band from New Orleans right now,' to Bass Player Magazine saying, 'The colossal low end and filthy grooves they threw down from the Gentilly Stage must have set a Jazz Fest record for baddest bass jams ever.' Dirty Word offers a fresh and varied take on funk, blues, gospel, second-line, R&B and rock n roll. The album features special guest appearances by Art Neville, Trombone Shorty, Rebirth Brass Band, Skerik, Ani DiFranco and Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers). ~


A great new groove from Quasimode – and a set that has the combo really coming across with a sound that's more sensitive than before! The quartet still have their great ear for a strong bottom on their jazz tunes, but most numbers here move in a midtempo speed, instead of their previous pounding jazz dance approach – and this change really allows for some greater warmth in the music, particularly on the round, soulful basslines – and the especially strong piano! A few cuts add in a bit of tenor and trumpet, but the main focus is on these wonderfuly flowing piano lines over nicely groovy rhythms – and as the title indicates, the set features favorite tunes, remade by Quasimode in their own style. Titles include "Love Theme From Sunflower", "Open Your Eyes", "High & Dry", "Overjoyed", "Cleopatra's Dream", "Day Dreaming", and "Can't Take My Eyes Off You".   Dusty Groove


Plenty to be happy about here – a sweet set of classic bossa tracks from the 60s, and one of the first to equally mix gems from the vaults of both Universal and EMI Records! The recent merger of the musical giants means that Blue Note tracks sit next to Verve numbers from the US, and older Brazilian recordings on labels like Odeon or Elenco – more than enough music to make a mighty great selection of music! The set also features a few numbers of more recent vintage – and titles include "The Dolphin" by Bill Evans, "Latona" by Big John Patton, "Sambou Sambou" by Doris Monteiro, "Monsieur Binot" by Joyce, "Soul Bossa Nova" by Quincy Jones, "Chup Chup I Got Away" by Marcos Valle, "We & The Sea" by Tamba 4, "Dindi" by Sylvia Telles, "Summer Samba" by Walter Wanderley, "Upa Nequinho" by Duke Pearson, "Wave" by Ron Carter, and "Inutil Paisagem" by Milton Banana Trio. ~ Dusty Groove

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...