Thursday, February 14, 2013


Tom Jones has signed with Rounder Records and on April 23, the label will release Spirit In The Room, Tom’s latest recording.

Tom Jones possesses one of the most memorable and distinctive voices in pop music, and has one of the most storied careers in entertainment. We’re
thrilled that he’s chosen to make his home with us at Rounder, and we look forward to working with him on this wonderful project,” said John Virant, President of Rounder.

The album is a “potent collection” (Mojo) of songs by an eclectic group of composers that includes Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, Blind Willie Johnson, Paul McCartney, Odetta, Paul Simon, Richard Thompson, and Tom Waits, as well an original composition penned by Jones and producer Ethan Johns.

Spirit in the Room has drawn raves from critics: Mojo proclaimed “The grain and gravitas of Jones’ voice is perfectly suited to the diverse material,” while the Sunday Times called it “simply stunning.” The Telegraph praised the “beautiful album of great songs performed with taste and sung with tender resonance by one of the most distinctive voices of British popular music,” and the Daily Mail enthused “Jones raises his game and lowers his guard…magnificent.”

For those of you who don’t know, the album reunites Jones with producer Ethan Johns, who was at the helm for Jones’ acclaimed Praise & Blame. The album was recorded live at Real World Studios in Bath, and beautifully captures the intimacy and immediacy of the live performances. In addition to producer/multi-instrumentalist Johns, the band features Richard Causon on piano and vintage keyboards, Ian Jennings and Sam Dixon on bass, and drummer Stella Mozgawa.

Tom is planning to tour the United States in April and May. Dates will be announced shortly.

Spirit In The Room Track Listing:
1. Tower of Song (Leonard Cohen)
2. Bad As Me (Kathleen Brennan/Tom Waits)
3. Travelling Blues (Ethan Johns/Tom Jones)
4. All Blues Hail Mary (Joe Henry)
5. Lone Pilgrim (Adger M. Pace/B.F. White)
6. Hit Or Miss (Odetta Felious Gordon)
7. Dimming Of The Day (Richard Thompson)
8. (I Want To) Come Home (Paul McCartney)
9. Love And Blessings (Paul Simon)
10. Soul Of A Man (Blind Willie Johnson)
11. Just Dropped In (Mickey Newbury)
12. Charlie Darwin (The Low Anthem)
13. When The Deal Goes Down (Bob Dylan)

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...