Friday, February 08, 2013



An even deeper set than usual from Osunlade – and a record that really helps push his musical journey even farther into the cosmos than before! The set's got some key jazzy elements that really shine amidst the fuller backdrops laid out by Osunlade – a range of keyboards that includes lots of Fender Rhodes, mini moog, Arp, and other cool sounds – mixed with earthy percussion that really helps set a more organic vibe for the record – but in ways that feel different than some of the artist's other recent efforts. Tunes are open and flowing – not often that concerned with the dancefloor as they are with a wider musical soundscape – and the set features work from key guests who include Miles Bonny on trumpet, Dwayne Carter on guitar, The Yoruba Soul Orchestra on cello, and Emanuele Coluccia on tenor, flute, and trumpet! Vocals are from the man himself, and very righteous – and titles include "Eclipse", "Luna Moth", "Camera Shy", "Vessel", "Goddess", "Conversations With Myself", "Quiet Departures", and "The Realm Of Difference". (Super-heavy pressing – feels even heavier than the 180 gram promised on the cover. ~ Dusty Groove


A really great album from Fire – a set that has the trio expanded way more than usual, into jazz orchestra form – and working here in a style that's wonderfully soulful and spiritual overall! The set isn't just a spiritual jazz outing – as it's got these really unique flavors and colors that still echo the intensity of the previous Fire trio outings, but which spread the energy out over the larger ensemble, then give it a lot more focus too – less improvisation, and instead some really visionary arrangements that make the whole thing shine brilliantly from start to finish. There's a bit of vocals, which are tremendous too – almost echoing some of the Fontella Bass work with the Art Ensemble Of Chicago, but darker too. Mats Gustafsson conducts the group – and really blows us away with his efforts – and the set features one long two part composition – with performances by Sten Sandell on piano and electronics, Mariam Wallentin and Sofia Jernberg on voice, Magnus Broo and Emil Strandberg on trumpet, Jonas Kullhammar on bass sax, Fredrik Ljungkvist on baritone and clarinet, and Mats himself on tenor and live electronics! (First edition pression of 500 copies with bonus CD of the album.) ~ Dusty Groove


Emerging on the scenes in 2003, Micki Barocca gave a new face to music with her incredibly sultry vocals and soul stirring blend of funk, jazz, soul fusion. This Philly songstress, given the New Artist Spotlight on RNBPhilly in 2010, was also featured in Levitate and DY magazines in 2009. Music also featured on the soundtrack of film "Finding Me: Truth".  ~ CD Universe

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...