Friday, January 25, 2013


Multi-hyphenate Dexter Story is a composer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, music producer, sound designer and freelance go-to guy. Named after the jazz saxophonist Dexter Gordon by his audiophile father, Story grew up studying music theory, guitar and piano which led to him fronting and touring in local bands by age 14. While earning his undergraduate degree at UC Berkeley and Bordeaux National Conservatory in France, Story performed with a diverse array of masters including Wynton Marsalis, Ravi Coltrane, Eric Reed, Jeff Narell, Lord Crazy, Ernie Watts, John Stubblefield and Slide Hampton. Alongside a successful on-stage music career, Story worked in every facet of the music industry business (from Marketing Director at Priority, Def Jam and Bad Boy Records to Talent Buyer at the legendary Temple Bar) enjoying 15 years at the epicenter of popular music culture. His latest and most notable endeavors however are focused on music producer and his first love and passion for composing music-to-picture having recently scored writer/producer Anthony Bertram short film “Brother’s Prayer,” provided original music for the award-winning documentary “City Lax” and music supervised the feature film “Hurricane Season” starring Academy Award winner Forrest Whitaker. Story also recently music-directed the highly-acclaimed Peace Go With You, Gil tribute concert at Grand Performances in the Summer of 2012. Story collaborates regularly with producer/DJ Carlos NiƱo as co-founder of the breakthrough experimental group The Life Force Trio as well as with acclaimed jazz/soul vocalist Dwight Trible and Todd Simon’s Ethio Cali Jazz Ensemble. He is currently readying the November 2012 release of his Kindred Spirits debut album Seasons featuring a who’s who of underground talent. Story currently lives in Los Angeles.

01. Underway (Love Is)
02. Suijin (Interlude)
03. Into The Hour
04. Blood Drip
05. God Son
06. As In
07. Gyre Song
08. Paddle Boat (Interlude)
09. Water Bearer
10. Underneath It All
11. Love Force Trio Pt. 1
12. Seasons (Make The Most)
13. Spring
14. Underway Reprise feat. Jimetta Rose

The album Dexter Story “Seasons” (Kindred Spirits) is going to be released on Jan. 25, 2013.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...