Wednesday, December 05, 2012


• Long Regarded as One of the Greatest Soul Albums of the '70s from One of Soul's Greatest Songwriters

• Domestic CD Debut and Reissued as a Stand-Alone CD for the First Time Ever

• Includes Five Bonus Single Sides Comprising Sam Dees' Complete Atlantic Recordings

• New Liner Notes by Bill Dahl

At six foot four and two-hundred-plus pounds, Sam Dees is a soul giant in more ways than one. Best known for penning hits for Whitney Houston, Gladys Knight, George Benson, Aretha Franklin, Atlantic Starr and Larry Graham (and songs for artists ranging from Tyrone Davis to the Temptations to Teddy Pendergrass to Millie Jackson), Dees also recorded what a consensus of soul collectors rate as one of the best LPs of the ‘70s, The Show Must Go On, for the Atlantic label in 1975. A remarkable amalgam of Southern and Chicago soul styles, and anchored by Dees’ always remarkable songwriting, The Show Must Go On spawned no less than four charting singles; yet, for some reason, the album has never been reissued as a standalone CD (it is available on a French box set that’ll set you back a bunch of euros). Given its history, the Real Gone reissue of The Show Must Go On comes as big news in soul circles, but here’s the kicker—we’ve added six bonus single sides to comprise Sam’s complete Atlantic recordings! Notes from R&B maven Bill Dahl and photos complete the package. Essential! Set for release on January 29, 2013.

1. Child of the Streets
2. The Show Must Go On
3. Come Back Strong
4. Just Out of My Reach
5. Claim Jumpin’
6. Troubled Child
7. What’s It Gonna Be
8. Worn Out Broken Heart
9. Good Guys
10. So Tied Up

Bonus Single Sides
11. I'm So Very Glad
12. So Tied Up (Single Version)
13. Signed Miss Heroin
14. Fragile, Handle with Care
15. Save the Love at Any Cost
16. Child of the Streets (Single Edit)

~ Real Gone Music

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...