Tuesday, December 06, 2011


The Quiet Nights Orchestra hailing from Stockholm, Sweden, released their debut album Chapter One all over the world in 2009 and it has not left anyone indifferent. The album proved above all that jazz is not an outdated genre and definitely not exclusive to jazz clubs alone. The band has always tried to find new ways of expression in their music but still glimpses back to classic jazz, maintaining the roots and pushing the envelope at the same time. This sounds clearly in their sequel, and instead of stomping in the same footsteps as their debut album, they have now developed their sound in the new album Movin'. This time, more band members moved into the composer room, which also demonstrates that the band is not a one man show! The post-production of the album has also played a central role in the recording process this time, adding elements such as strings, vibraphone and guitar as extra ingredients. Eminent guests such as the world-famous musician and arranger Magnus Lindgren and musician Roman Andrén gives the album extra spice!

The stunning band is the same as always consisting of Sofie Norling (Vocals), Peter Fredriksson (trombone / band leader), Jonne Bentlöv (trumpet), Magnus Dölerud (sax), Philip Neterowicz (piano), Peder Waern (double bass), Carl Ottosson (drums) and Jacob Johannesson (percussion). The sound on the album could be described as modern but with the same elegance as Jazz from the 50s and 60s. The compositions sparkle with fresh influences from genres such as soul, funk, house and even some hints of boogie, surf and classic cuban rumba. One thing is certain; that the band does not tread in the same footprint as before, but is movin' forward with a fiery enthusiasm!

Movin' features some great jazzy grooves from and every bit as wonderful as the first. There's wicked blend of modes going on here – a bit of modal jazz, some clubjazz rhythms, a touch of Schema groove, and also just a hint of older jazz modes too – all wrapped together with a youthful, vibrant energy that really makes the whole thing sparkle! If you've ever dug work on labels like Ricky Tick, Schema, or some of the best older Compost material, you'll find plenty here to love – and it's great to know that there's folks like Quiet Nights out there, still putting out grooves like this. Sofie Norling sings these beautiful vocals on a few tracks, but overall most of the set is instrumental – with a nice mix of trumpet, trombone, saxes, and even some vibes.

The Quiet Nights Orchestra Movin’ tracklisting:
01 Waves
02 Movin'
03 When We Fly
04 The Tryout
05 Falling For You
06 The Path
07 Dreaming
08 One More Try
09 I Don't Think So
10 Sundays
11 Rockys Corner
12 He Is My Music

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...