Wednesday, October 12, 2011


Here for the first time on CD (and digitally remastered) is the second album from jazz and soul songstress Marlena Shaw, recorded for Blue Note label back in 1973. After her 1960’s tenure with Cadet Records, Shaw became the first female vocalist to be signed to Blue Note. From The Depths Of My Soul was the follow-up to her label debut Marlena. It was recorded in May of 1973 in New York City, and the album was produced by noted jazz music executive Dr. George Butler who assembled a cast of great musicians including Ron Carter (on bass), Grady Tate (drums) and guitarists Hugh McCracken and Cornell Dupree. The song selection on the album runs the gamut from R&B hits of the day such as The Main Ingredient's "Just Don't Want To Be Lonely" and "Wildflower," popularized by The O'Jays to "I Know I Love Him" (from the Andrew Lloyd-Weber/Tim Rice musical Jesus Christ Superstar) and Randy Edelman's "The Laughter And The Tears." The liner notes by Darnell Meyers-Johnson include 2011 quotes from Marlena, whose global appeal continues close to 50 years after she began performing and recording.

From The Depths Of My Soul Tracklist:
1. Prelude/I Know I Love Him
2. Hum This Song
3. But For Now
4. Easy Evil
5. The Laughter And The Tears
6. The Feeling's Good
7. Wildflower
8. Just Don't Want To Be Lonely
9. Waterfall
10. Say A Good Word
11. Time For Me To Go

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...