Thursday, June 30, 2011


Jazz recording artist, pianist, composer, arranger, and winner of 10 Grammys, and Oscar - has a new album entitled An Evening With Dave Grusin. Grusin steps out from behind the various machinations of film and television production to take center stage on An Evening with Dave Grusin, a groundbreaking live recording that captures him conducting and performing with a host of stars, and backed by the 75-piece Henry Mancini Institute Orchestra at the Adrienne Arsht Center in Miami, Florida, in December 2009. The album is a collection of 12 songs by Grusin, Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin and Henry Mancini. Guest performers on the date include Jon Secada, Patti Austin, Monica Mancini, Gary Burton, Arturo Sandoval, Nestor Torres and Sammy Figueroa. “This recording was a great opportunity to revisit some of my previous film work,” says Grusin, “as well as performing music by George Gershwin, and some material from West Side Story by Leonard Bernstein, two giants among American composers. And I’m especially fond of the Henry Mancini songs. Hank was a friend of mine, and a mentor who helped so many of us get into the business of film scoring.” The word “orchestration” can have more than one meaning in a project that involves 75 musicians and a series of high-caliber guest performers, Grusin admits. “Recordings like this can be challenging,” he says. “There are a lot of pieces that have to come together in the right place and at the right time – both in the planning stage and during the actual performance. But everyone was a professional at every step of the process. I’m grateful for the longtime association I’ve had with Larry Rosen, and for the contributions so many other great people who helped make this happen. I think this recording captures some of the work I’m most proud of, along with the work of people whom I’ve admired for many years.” This groundbreaking project, which is the first music performance to be simultaneously released on CD, Blu-ray, and iPad App brings together a team of world class experts. The team includes award winning producers Larry Rosen and the legendary Phil Ramone; multi-Grammy winning recording engineers Eric Shilling and Frank Filipetti; and the cutting edge iPad App development team from ROBA Interactive.

An Evening With Dave Grusin Track Listing
1. Fratelli Chase 1:55

2. Cool 4:30
3. Maria 5:42
4. Makin' Whoopee 5:25
5. I Feel Pretty 7:25
6. Bess You Is My Woman Now/I Loves You Porgy 6:22
7. It Might Be You 6:16
8. On Golden Pond/New Hampshire Hornpipe 6:04
9. Somewhere 4:54
10. Moon River 4:38
11. America 7:40
12. Memphis Stomp 1:05

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...