Monday, May 05, 2008


Just announced is the release of guitarist and vocalist Nick Colionne's new album "No Limits" to be released July 8th, 2008. Nick Colionne joined the ranks of today's premier jazz artists with his 2004 album "Just Come On In," which included the mega-hits "High Flyin'" and "It's Been Too Long" which hit #2 (and top 10 for the year) and #16 on the R&R Smooth Jazz Chart,
respectively. Colionne is a guitarist and vocalist whose "live" performances defy categorization. His shows incorporate all the music he loves best and the influences he's had throughout his career, from jazz to R&B to funk to blues. You're as likely to hear Nick sing the blues as you are to hear his blazing jazz licks, or even the occasional hint of metal, recalling the beginning of his career as a heavy metal guitarist. He has taken that diverse musicality and run with it on "No Limits," creating an album that is both unique and varied.

His most recent album, "Keepin' It Cool," propelled him to the top of the charts once again with the single "Always Thinking of You," which stayed on the R&R charts for an incredible 45 weeks and was also top 10 for the year. Colionne titled the new album "No Limits" to describe where he is at in terms of his music, saying, "the project 'No Limits' is my latest adventure. I call it an adventure because I wanted to explore doing some different things with my music and not limit myself to one genre or style of playing." Colionne teamed up with two Grammy-award winning writers for the album: Jim Peterik who wrote "The Eye of The Tiger," the theme from the film "Rocky," and Paul Richmond who wrote "Shining Star" for The Manhattans. From the upbeat title track to the dreamy "Headin' Wes Before Dawn" and Brazilian-feeling "Ports of Call" to the dance infused "Steppin' Back," "No Limits" is an album that has something for everyone. Colionne explores new genres and sounds to create an album both diverse and limitless.

Track listing
(All songs written by Nick Colionne unless otherwise noted)
1) No Limits
2) Steppin' Back
3) The Big Windy Cat
4) Melting Into You, vocal (Written by Jim Peterik and Nick)
5) Until Tonight
6) Hard Line, vocal (Written by Jim Peterik and Nick)
7) Ports Of Call
8) On The Edge
9) Headin' Wes Before Dawn (Nick's tribute to Wes Montgomery)
10) Take A Walk With Me
11) Godfather J (Nick's tribute to James Brown)
12) Anyway, vocal (Written by Paul Richmond)
13) Anyway, instrumental (Written by Paul Richmond)

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...