Saturday, August 18, 2007


In honor of Miles Davis' 81st birthday on Saturday, May 26, the long-awaited release of Evolution Of The Groove Miles Davis Remix EP premieres tracks with Nas, Carlos Santana, Olu Dara and an A-list contemporary music ensemble featuring Miles' nephew Vince Wilburn, Jr., on drums and programming, guitarist Pat Thrall (Pat Travers Band, Meat Loaf) and bassist Charley Drayton (Rolling Stones, Iggy Pop, Divinyls).

Executive produced by Steve Berkowitz and Vince Wilburn, Jr., and co-produced by Wilburn, Jr., Thrall, and Drayton, Evolution Of The Groove was recorded mainly at the Hit Factory in New York City. Nas' vocals on the track "Freedom Jazz Dance," co-produced by jazz funk legend Lenny White (Return To Forever), were recorded at DARP Studios in Atlanta, Georgia. Tracks on Evolution Of The Groove remix EP include "Freddie Freeloader," "Freedom Jazz Dance" featuring Nas, "It's About That Time" featuring Carlos Santana (this is a longer version that the one originally included on 2006's "Cool & Collected"), "Honky Tonk" and "Black Satin." Both an homage to Miles and a continuation of the spirit and intention of his music, Evolution Of The Groove imagines Miles Davis in the 21st century, the lyricism of his horn and the power of his musical vision blending with contemporary hip-hop, jazz and rock in provocative new ways and seductive new grooves

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...